Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MMI , phone app

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2016, 07:37 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default MMI , phone app

Sorry I am new to this. I picked up a US mobile SIM and set it up in my MMI for Google Earth. Appears to be working.

1) Do I still have to go to myaudiconnect and register a subscription for connect services? I tried but it says it cannot find the SIM in the system. Or are the connect services free and the subscription would just buy me the t-mobile data plan?

2) The phone audi connect app says it cannot connect to the vehicle. How is the connection made via cell phone data? Or is WiFi the only option? If I turn on WiFi in the vehicle for this feature does this also allow others to use the hotspot or can one just turn on WiFi for the phone app to work without the hotspot feature enabled?
Old 05-24-2016, 08:43 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1,065 Likes on 740 Posts

Originally Posted by Sbaer81
Sorry I am new to this. I picked up a US mobile SIM and set it up in my MMI for Google Earth. Appears to be working.

1) Do I still have to go to myaudiconnect and register a subscription for connect services? I tried but it says it cannot find the SIM in the system. Or are the connect services free and the subscription would just buy me the t-mobile data plan?

2) The phone audi connect app says it cannot connect to the vehicle. How is the connection made via cell phone data? Or is WiFi the only option? If I turn on WiFi in the vehicle for this feature does this also allow others to use the hotspot or can one just turn on WiFi for the phone app to work without the hotspot feature enabled?
1. No, you don't need to register for connect services. myaudiconnect.com is used to obtain service from AT&T or T-Mobile.