Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

AdBlue

Old 02-28-2014, 01:36 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AdBlue

So before my Q5 TDI comes in the end of March, I got curious about the AdBlue service (I am new to TDI). I called my local Audi dealer (service section) and asked what do they charge for the Adblue service? Expecting a $60 or so dollars reply; nope, the reply...$220!!!!!!! This seems like a very cheap fluid that I can do myself but from what I understand, I need something to reset the computer?
Anyone doing the Adblue themselves without any issues? Any tips? I understand it's an Audi and all, but this seems like a $50 job at the most...why $220?!
Old 02-28-2014, 03:36 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 39 Likes on 30 Posts

If you have Audi Care, it should be included. The dealer topped off the Ad Blue at my 5K service and I expect they will continue to do the same at each subsequent service interval.
Old 02-28-2014, 05:16 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

They filled mine at the 5K service and I have about 7800 miles on it. Just bought a gallon of the stuff at the local NAPA store, Blue DEF. After filling I'll reset the computer with my VAG-COM Ross-Tech cable.
Having the VAG-COM is priceless if you have VW Audi vehicles...
Old 02-28-2014, 05:35 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by macwm
If you have Audi Care, it should be included. The dealer topped off the Ad Blue at my 5K service and I expect they will continue to do the same at each subsequent service interval.
I have AudiCare but I keep my Audi's way after AudiCare so I got curious how much that would cost to do afterwards.
Old 02-28-2014, 05:36 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by skl1