Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Seattle-Phoenix in November, all seasons ok?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2014, 03:15 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seattle-Phoenix in November, all seasons ok?

We plan to drive on the I-5 to LA then I-10 to Phoenix. I understand there are a few mountain passes along the way but I have no first hand experience any time of the year. I live in BC now and grew up on the Canadian prairies so I'm familiar with driving on snow.

I'd planned to get some chains to take along for an emergency but there seems to be some disagreement as to whether or not chains can/should be used on the Q5. Our tires are the 235R55-19 all season.

What are the odds of snowy roads?

Thanks to anyone with insight they can provide.
Old 10-22-2014, 08:53 PM
AudiWorld Member

SEA-PDX should be fine. It might snow a couple times a year, Nov seems early and it's a major interstate. I wouldn't sweat that part. Not sure about Oregon into N. California -- that seems like the only part I would sweat.
Old 10-22-2014, 09:59 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

If you're above 3000 feet you could maybe see some snow but chains required is quite unlikely. I would bet you'll have no issues.
Old 10-22-2014, 09:59 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by HarmsWay
We plan to drive on the I-5 to LA then I-10 to Phoenix. I understand there are a few mountain passes along the way but I have no first hand experience any time of the year. I live in BC now and grew up on the Canadian prairies so I'm familiar with driving on snow.

I'd planned to get some chains to take along for an emergency but there seems to be some disagreement as to whether or not chains can/should be used on the Q5. Our tires are the 235R55-19 all season.

What are the odds of snowy roads?

Thanks to anyone with insight they can provide.