Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Start / Stop on TDI

Old 08-16-2014, 06:28 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Start / Stop on TDI

I'm new to this technology and so far am pretty impressed with how quick it goes from the stopped position to the start... However, wondering how well it works in hills especially some steep ones in San Francisco? I notice from other forums and posts that this is not new technology as it is quite prevelant outside the US. Has anyone heard of any issues with this technology? Such as transmission or engine issues etc...?

I do a lot of in town driving which consists of a lot of stop signs and stop signals and sometimes get a bit annoyed with the technology since as stop signs we have to stop and go so much etc....

I know I can disable it but just curious on of people use the start / stop function or not and experiences both in town and on steep hills.
Old 08-16-2014, 08:45 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I haven't had any problems with mine, but I've only owned it for a year. I used the button to shut it off when I need to, and after you get used to it, you'll be able to modulate the brake pedal pretty well to keep it from shutting off if that's what your looking for.
Old 08-16-2014, 03:47 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by imdakine1
I'm new to this technology and so far am pretty impressed with how quick it goes from the stopped position to the start... However, wondering how well it works in hills especially some steep ones in San Francisco? I notice from other forums and posts that this is not new technology as it is quite prevelant outside the US. Has anyone heard of any issues with this technology? Such as transmission or engine issues etc...?