Q5/SQ5 MKI (8R) Discussion Discussion forum for the First Generation Audi Q5 SUV produced from 2008 to 2017

Exhaust Mods

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2019, 10:21 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Mods

Hi everyone, new here but I've been scouring the forums for months since I bought my 2014 Q5 2.0t back in October and have seen a lot of interesting posts.

I was interested in making my Q5 just a bit louder and want to know if anyone else has done any mods to their 2.0 and what they were? I've spent time on the internet and found AWE exhaust systems. I enjoy the sound but they're quite steep on price however. Any other recommendations? I'm open to DIY instead of buying a catback system if needed.

Thanks!
Old 06-28-2019, 12:15 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Mate, I've a SQ5+ tdi and I struggle for a real exhaust sound. So I'm having to use the milltek sound control to play around with the volume.
At the moment I'm thinking of a supersprint system so you could have a look at those, bit pricey or I'd recommend this if you are on a budget and that is if you know a good exhaust guy, get one made.
But it depends on how much noise you want and everyone will have a different opinion on this.

YouTube have some decent videos of back box removal on certain models. But start with the rear boxes and see how you go from there.
Old 06-29-2019, 03:57 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by LazyPanda
Mate, I've a SQ5+ tdi and I struggle for a real exhaust sound. So I'm having to use the milltek sound control to play around with the volume.
At the moment I'm thinking of a supersprint system so you could have a look at those, bit pricey or I'd recommend this if you are on a budget and that is if you know a good exhaust guy, get one made.
But it depends on how much noise you want and everyone will have a different opinion on this.