Q7 MK 1 Discussion Discussion forum for the Audi Q7 SUV built from 2005 to 2015

Hello, my name is Lancaster and I'm a recovering S8 addict

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2016, 03:52 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello, my name is Lancaster and I'm a recovering S8 addict

Some of you might know me from my S8 D3 & 4 threads as I have been angling towards one for several months. Flauta (my wife) and Vikram (our shrink) have convinced me that putting off an S8 for a couple of years and buying Flauta's first choice, (a Q7) is a much, much more cost effective strategy than a messy divorce. So now I must, (oh darn) angle towards a Q7. So the learning curve starts all over again.

We have 3 kids (6, 8 & 13 and 2 Australian Shepards). Most of the driving I do, (90%) is highway. I will spend somewhere between $20-40k. Time of purchase will probably be early Fall as I will take my 13 year old on the road trip and try to catch a college or Pro football game on the way back to Maine. Leaning towards the S Line models. Love the Special edition 2015 models but probably won't be within range by Fall.

So here are my opening questions;

1) Are there any years to avoid?
2) Are these cars like S8's where when they break they break big and expensive?
3) Are warranties recommended if you don't wrench yourself?
4) With the 3rd row seats up, is there room for 2 medium sized Aussies behind? I'm guessing no issue with the third row split.
5) Should I consider a diesel? Concerned a bit thinking it won't be as powerful and the additional cost of diesel gas.
6) What grade of gas do these run best on?
7) What package has the headrest DVD players?

I'm sure I've missed many more important questions so feel free to chime in with anything I've missed. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by 911 Crazy; 02-12-2016 at 05:34 AM.
Old 02-11-2016, 04:02 PM
AudiWorld Expert

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts