RS4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi RS4

RS4 Questions - new owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2016, 09:30 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RS4 Questions - new owner

I traded my 06 S4 Cab for an 08 RS4 cab about a month ago. I loved my S4, but this car just blows me away every time I get behind the wheel. I'm not that rich a guy and still can't believe i get to drive this car. I am still looking for excuses to go places. I am no mechanic, so I had a buddy who used to be a service manager at an Audi shop, who now manages a body shop, check it out for me and he gave me the green light. Still, I bought an extended warranty, but now have some questions that may sound dumb but, here they are:

1. Tires: Because there is no room for a spare, I assumed that they came with run flats, even though my car currently has all seasons, that are not run flats. Then I saw a post on this forum that said that they don't come with run flats. What kind of tires should I be looking at?

2. Carbon. The car has 32,000 miles on it and pretty complete service records, but there is no record of a carbon cleaning. My assumption when i bought it was that i would have to do one sooner rather than later. The few opportunities that i have had to really step on it have not produced any hesitations or flat spots. That said, if it has gradually lost power, i would have no way of knowing that, as I have never driven one before the one I bought.
There is a shop outside Chicago that does a pecan shell cleaning for around $800.00 Would you recommend just doing it now?

3. The warranty. It seems like the things that are most likely to need work in the future are wear items and not covered; carbon, clutch, brakes. I can still cancel the warranty, bank the 4 grand, and self insure. I'm wondering what kind of long term experience you guys have had with this car.

Any advice on these or any other topics would be greatly appreciated.