S4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi S4 produced from 2009-2016

Newb Considering B8.5 S4/5 Purchase - Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2016, 10:09 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newb Considering B8.5 S4/5 Purchase - Questions

Hi All,

This is my introductory post to what seems like a pretty active and quite knowledgeable forum.

I'm on the fence with a couple of other options but I think I'm finally going to make the jump to an Audi after the better part of a decade DDing Corvettes. I'm going to keep a track toy but I want something a little more practical for my daily needs. I have some experience with Quattro in nasty weather and was thoroughly impressed. It's also appealing to be getting 4 seats and a car I can have a phone conversation in without giving the caller on the other end of the line the impression that I'm standing on a jetway.

I'm considering a '14 or '15 S4 or S5 (leaning toward the S5) and have a few questions if you'll indulge me. I've done quite a bit of reading but haven't yet found satisfactory answers to all my questions.

1. I'm trying to decide between S-Tronic and manual transmissions. I've driven manuals forever and love the heightened experience but the dual clutch unit is compelling. I am aware of the differences in engagement, performance, fuel economy and driveability in traffic and, for my personal needs and preferences, consider them to be largely a irrelevant. My questions are in the areas of maintenance cost, longevity and reliability. I will consider an APR Stage 1 ECU remapping (more on that later) but will not mod my DD significantly beyond that. I have other choices when I want to go really fast . Does anyone have any insight as to how long the S-Tronic transmissions last between service and the cost associated with said service? Same question for the 6MT. I find myself firmly planted in the "spirited" driver category most days but won't beat on it often.