S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

2002 B5 S4 Heater Core Replacement

Old 12-18-2014, 06:04 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 B5 S4 Heater Core Replacement

Hi everyone, looking for a little help.

I picked up a 2002 S4 last week, and it needs some work to get the heat working. The car was a one owner car and I have all the service records. The past two years (2013 and 2012), he had the heater core flushed, which fixed the heat for 6 months or so....

I flushed it twice in the past week and the heat would work for a day or two. I'm approaching winter in Chicago, and need to get this sorted out ASAP.

Regardless, I think it's time to replace the heater core, with the age of the car. I really don't want to wait and have it start leaking.....

I'm new to Audi's so I'm looking for a little help. I came across a time lapse video on YouTube that the guy commented it took him 23 hours to do. I've run across comments on here that say anywhere from 6 hours to 11 hours to do it on a B5.....That's a huge difference.

I really want to pick up a repair manual, and wanted to tackle this project this weekend. Is the Bentley any good? I came across something that said to just subscribe to alldatadiy.com because it's cheaper and contains the same info as Bentley? I also heard that the Bentley cd is junk, as you can only install their reader in Win XP??

Basically, I'm looking for some manuals that will help me rip my dash apart.

I'm planning on using Kris Hanson's article to assist with replacing the heater core:
Audi area: Audi A4 (B5). Heater Core Swap

This was the thread that enlightened me to Kris' write up:
https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-...epair-2812638/

Will I really have to purge my AC lines to swap out the heater core?

I've never pulled a steering wheel before, will I need a special tool to do that?

I'm going to pick up some G12 coolant so I have that on hand too.