S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Brake calipers staying engaged..

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016, 12:22 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake calipers staying engaged..

So I'm driving along and all of a sudden the car starts feeling like it is braking on its own; it becomes a struggle to get through the car keeping pressure on the brakes while I'm 30 ft from home. Get the car in the garage, jack up the rear wheels and the rear right wheel will not budge.

I assumed that it was a seized caliper and elected to replace it with a remanufactured one. Finished installing the new caliper, bled the system and then tried to drive the car.. won't budge, wheel is still locked and it felt like there was more. So I jacked up the car and find that the Front drivers side wheel will not move, nor will the rear right that I just replaced.

I'm not experienced enough with this so I'm hoping someone here can help me out. Haven't been able to find too much on the brakes staying engaged yet. I'm starting to think that it could be the master cylinder? Or something to do with the ABS? where the pressure is allowed to build up in the system but not allowed to bleed out..

Any ideas? Appreciate the Help.
Old 03-01-2016, 04:19 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Dumb question: Have you tried pulling up on the brake pedal to see if it's sticking? Is it low?
Old 03-01-2016, 08:42 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

The symptoms you described happened to my old Isuzu IMark years ago. The rear brakes locked while I was driving. My rear brakes were emitting white smoke (ahh, the smell of asbestos!) as I tried to make it to my mechanic's garage. Turns out, the brake master cylinder piston had a tear. It was rebuilt using a generic replacement part a few days ago. Had to rebuild the master cylinder again using better branded part. I suspect you have a bad master cylinder.