S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Buying an S4

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 09:58 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying an S4

I'm in the market for an S4. Personally, I would prefer a manual transmission but it seems every S4 on the market with decent mileage are automatic. How's the automatic on the S4? what should I look out for if I were to get an automatic and for the manual?
Old 12-23-2009, 04:44 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I have a 6-speed and she is fun as hell. The automatic I have no experience on and have not really heard anything bad about them, but what I have heard rumblings about are some tuning restrictions when it comes to the auto vs manual. For instance, chipping or boosting may have limitations when working with the tiptronic, etc.

If you are just purchasing for a fun ride with no plans to tune her up, then i think it just comes down to personal preference.

Then again I am sure someone way more knowledgeable would have a better take then me, just my opinion.

Enjoy and welcome
Old 12-23-2009, 05:22 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hold out for a manual if you have any intentions of modding or if you think you might have some intentions one day. If you buy a tip, just stay away from the forums so you don't read how much fun people are having with high-power 6MTs. Otherwise, no problems with the tips that I have heard. If I were in the market for a B5 S4 right now, I'd wait for a stage-3 6MT to come on the market and then I'd pounce.