S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

Help...coolant issue?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2009, 08:53 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help...coolant issue?

I own a 01 Audi s4 and maintenance for the most part has been taken care of religiously...from the first owner to me..

I am new to the Audi world and have basic mechanical skills such as oil changes and brakes and so forth

My issue occurred today while letting it sit after a ride to the mall and back and after shutting it off a pop noise occurred and didn't think much of it...then I realized smoke was arising from the hood and then I open it and see G12 draining out fast...

Further inspection showed two things..
1st there seems to be a hole that's there and a cap that should be there...but also there's a wire(harness) hanging from there and not sure where it disconnected from...I want to believe what ever covers the hole also had some kinda sensor which connects to the wire sensor harness looking thing...but there's nothing found to put back..

The hole is probably connect to the bottom of the radiator

So I was wondering what the part is?
Why did this happen?..
(Background info ...the g12 was never flushed out and when I recently opened the cap it look like a water down orange color and had a lot of minerals/crap around the rim of the cap and container..pics below)

Any info explaining why and how to repair and prevent this from happening would be great..
Attached Images   
Old 07-11-2009, 05:05 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default bump

anything?
Old 07-11-2009, 05:14 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

1st pic - yup, there should be a sensor there. Hard to imagine how that thing popped out with the clip (that black plastic thing) still on there, and how the sensor then came off of the harness....