S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

NEW S4 Owner + Questions

Old 05-10-2009, 05:58 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEW S4 Owner + Questions

I just bought a 2001 Nogaro Blue S4 w/ 6 speed with 106k. Im new to the whole Audi world, i come from Hondas. As soon as a drove this car i could never step foot in another Honda vehicle. I have a few questions to start off with get me started.

Where is the best place to get OEM audi parts online that has diagrams and part #'s?

I have a small oil leak(bare with my description) coming from the side of the engine located on the rear passenger side just below the valve cover. It almost seems like it is coming from a black tubing mounted on the side. Its not the valve cover gasket for sure. Sorry I am not familiar with these engines yet so i cant tell you what parts are what..

Is a leaking wiper wash fluid tank common?

I am about to dive into a timing belt change. what parts are recommended to change while in there? t-belt, waterpump, tb tensioner? anything else?

Thats all the questions for now, more to come later. thanks for the help.
Old 05-10-2009, 06:07 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default GOTTA POST some pics..

Old 05-10-2009, 06:21 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

First bit of maintenance a timing belt job? Lot's of people never want to tackle that.

Search for "timing belt" w/ quotes in the advanced search and just selected the b5 s4 forum.

You'll need a special tool that is a cam locking bar. I've heard ECS (ecstuning.com) has a good kit. You'll need to do the water pump and thermistat while your in there. I would do make sure to replace any of the wear items in the area since getting to the timing belt is a real hassle with the removal of the front bumber/clip.

to use the search make sure to use quotes, or just use the google and do the site: thing.
Old 05-10-2009, 06:25 PM
AudiWorld Member