S4 / RS4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi S4 & RS4 produced from 1998-2002

TIP trans shifting funny?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2010, 02:25 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TIP trans shifting funny?

This is my first time owning an Audi S4 I was just wondering if it's a normal thing for the trans to shift almost like a muscle car would? It feels like it does some fairly hard shifts. It's a 2001 with 58K on it.
Old 02-05-2010, 07:30 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Did the previous owner have it chipped?

If so, they may have neglected to remove the TCU before they sold it. It's a pain to get to, but the only way to find out [unless you can ask the previous owner] if the transmission computer is chipped is to remove the box, and look in it.

I had to remove mine a couple of months ago, and it wasn't easy, but eventually came out with a lot of elbow grease.
Old 02-05-2010, 10:01 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

I honestly have no clue. I'd have to call the owner up tomorrow. Where approximately is the TCU located? Like I said I'm very new to this type of car and I'm still trying to learn as much as possible. Thank you for your help.
Old 02-07-2010, 11:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

No worries.

The TCU container is underneath the front passenger side footwell, closer to the seat brackets than the firewall.

To get to it, you have to remove the door sill, holding the carpet against the floorpan. There are two/three screws in the plastic cover on the right of the footwell that have to be removed before the sill will come out. Once the screws are out, the sill is held in with clips; be careful when pulling the sill away from the floor plan. You'll hear each clip release; there's at least 4-5.

Once you have it away, you'll be able to reach your hand underneath the carpet, and start feeling around for a smooth plastic box.