S6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi S6 produced from 2012 - 2017

Apple Car Play - safe to use 3rd party device?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2015, 06:42 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Apple Car Play - safe to use 3rd party device?

I want Apple Car Play on my brand new 2016 S6.

I called the Audi Tech number that came in the package with the car: 855-750-8324

They said "for now, only the 2017 Q7 will have car play. no guarantee that installing 3rd party device will not void new car warranty".

I "chatted" with the navtool.com website and they sent me this article:

https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/pres...ly-conditioned

i'm no expert on this subject. does this carry any weight for an audi owner? unlike many in this forum, i do not want to do anything to the car that might void the warranty.

appreciate feedback.

ps.....i'll say one thing about the S6......this car is THIRSTY!

also, i just put on Continental DWS 06 tires for the winter.
Old 11-13-2015, 04:35 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 44 Posts

Be advised they are soliciting for this device on the AW forums but the product supposedly won''t be available until Feb or later and they have so far reported scant details to posed questions from the members.
Old 11-15-2015, 03:32 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by snagitseven
Be advised they are soliciting for this device on the AW forums but the product supposedly won''t be available until Feb or later and they have so far reported scant details to posed questions from the members.
I agree. And they are not the only group out there offering a 'work around' to get Apple Car Play on the vehicles. When you look at the numbers they are seeking to achieve the major discounts I think they are out of touch with the forum membership and how group buys typically work and how many people sign up.

For me this is a wait and see.
Old 11-15-2015, 04:21 PM