A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Varying street values?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2016, 07:51 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Varying street values?

Noob here. Selling back my TDi Jetta Sportwagen to VW as part of their emissions scandal settlement, and looking for another wagon. Considered the BMW 5-series E39 wagons, but have been put off by their maintenance history.

Just looked at a very nice 2006 A6 Avant ( 133Kmiles ) yesterday and in doing my research it seems that valuations are all over the map? On one site I got a valuation of just over $9K, while at the other end I got a valuation of $5,700. Why such a wide range? What is a nice example of this era wagon worth?
Old 12-10-2016, 06:08 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I noticed you didn't receive any responses to your question.

I think the value of a ten or eleven year old car like the Audi you're looking at can vary widely depending mostly on miles but also very significantly on condition and maintenance history. Pricing a car like that is much more subjective than a one or two year old car.

If the car you're considering was a one owner car with complete dealer service and repair history records and is immaculate it would be worth several thousand dollars more to me than a car with no known history and in decent shape.

Have you pulled a Carfax report?
Old 12-10-2016, 10:49 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 170 Likes on 149 Posts