A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

New Guy in Town

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2017, 11:02 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy in Town

Hello I'm new to the C5 forum. I purchased my A6 about two years ago, and I've browsed the forums, but I finally made an account.

Since purchase I've done a number of repairs and maintenance services myself to this car, and it's served me absolutely well.

If anyone's interested, we can discuss the c5 platform, as I'm always trying to learn more.
Old 01-10-2017, 11:33 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Default A list of mechanical services we've done...

So I've got a 2004 A6 2.7t with the 6 speed manual transmision (what a fun car to learn stick on lol). The previous owner put in an APR exhaust (catback I think) and installed larger wheels and tires. 245/45 R17 on BBS Rc rims. Big fat grippy tires.

Unfortunately the car didn't come with an owner's manual, so I've had to wing it a lot for much of my work. This post is also a way for me to be able to look back at how my car is, and where I stand with things.

Oil Changes
I first did my oil changes somewhat frequently with Rotella T6, which seems a bit hardy for these engines to me. I since switched to M1 Euro Formula, and I've not had many issues. Also topped it off just a few weeks ago.

Engine Work
When we first got the car, it had a bit of an oil leak. (Cam tensioner seal or something like that) We decided to take it in and get the normal work done, so I've got a new water pump, timing belt, serpentine belt tensioner (was making a horrible grinding), new gaskets. So that was all taken care of.

Some time around the end of summer 2015, I noticed my engine mounts were making a bad squeaking sound on acceleration. Turns out they went bad as well, so I replaced those and my spark plugs this summer 2016 (About a 9 on the pita scale).