A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Suspension & Crunching Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2017, 10:17 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Suspension & Crunching Problems

2006 A8L W12

Im no mechanic, my wife's nephew is and helps me with this car. I'm trying to get educated so I don't take up too much of his time and can help out as much as possible. Mine is the first Audi he's worked on and he replaced a blower motor last weekend and I watched, he figured his way around things pretty smoothly. I hate not knowing wth is going on so I'm trying to learn.

1 month ago: Suspension went out, car completely lowered. Took to independent shop as nephew was too busy, "new compressor needed". A bunch of $ later.... car back up. In the past several weeks, its been very cold here, temps single digits to -30 windchill ...if left outside, the car will lower only in the rear, if inside garage, it will lower, sometimes all the way, sometimes part way...and then as soon as I fire it it up it raises back up. So from what I've read on these forums, this means a leak in the system / strut(s). If thats correct, its just a matter of time till compressor is burned up again correct?

Also have noticed a big crunching noise in the front left, after hitting any bumps and we have tons of them here with our winters. Also from reading on here, that seems to be the upper control arm bushings. So those either need lubricated or replaced correct?

These two issues are separate right? As in..the car lowering / strut / leak issue is not related to the crunching sound? Thats how I understand this from what I've read.