TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

2001 Audi TT Quattro - Overheating when HVAC is OFF

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2016, 02:43 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Audi TT Quattro - Overheating when HVAC is OFF

Intro:
I'm new here. Helping my father out with his 2001 Audi TT. He said it has overheated on him a few times (car shuts off). I took it the other day and told him I'd take a look at it. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I do have some experience (replaced head gasket/water pump on Honda Pilot, replaced alternators/temp sensors/thermostats, CV joints/axels, etc..). I feel comfortable doing work, but just need some direction on where to go from here. I have a bluetooth code reader, which has helped w/ diagnostics.

Summary:
The car seems to run completely fine if I turn the HVAC on. With the HVAC on, both radiator fans kick on. Without it, neither fan turns on (at least, up to ~195F coolant temp).
For my first drive, I went 20-30mins across town (~35mph avg speed limits). I had the heater on HI and the fans at full speed. I had no problems at all and coolant temp showed less than 165F pretty much the whole time. If I turn off the HVAC, the coolant temp starts to rise, then I turn the heater back on full and it starts dropping down to ~155F.

- Car has 99k miles
- Both radiator fans run when HVAC is on, neither run when HVAC is off (at least up to ~195F)
- I have not myself ran it hot enough for the car to shut down, so I don't know how hot it got
- I have replaced the coolant temp sensor (The one w/ easy top access, 10 min job)
- I have NOT replaced the thermostat (but I did pick on up and have it on hand)
- My father said it was in for routine service relatively recently when I asked if the coolant had been flushed

Next Step:
Where should I go from here?