TT (Mk1) Discussion Discussion forum for the Mk1 Audi TT Coupe & Roadster produced from 2000-2006

Affordable Performance help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 01:47 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Affordable Performance help!

hey all, im new to the audi world and have a couple of questions. About 2 months ago I purchased my first manual car (2001 Audi TT Quattro 180) yes its a 180 lol. I found a great deal trading my 03 infiniti g35 sedan. Comparatively, I love the audi and don't regret getting it, but the performance is poor. Im looking for an affordable way to upgrade. I.E exhaust, air intake, chips etc. Any suggestions with links and maybe prices?
Hope to hear back from some of you
Keith
Old 08-12-2015, 05:49 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

I'm not big on modding, chipping, etc. Been a fan of stock pretty much, I have the 225 and its no slouch. I have heard the same from 180 owners as well. I would start by making sure it is in top mechanical/stock tuned condition first. That would be my starting point regardless of my intentions. You could easily need plugs, coil packs, mine had severe vacuum leaking when I first got it, runs great now, great on gas mileage. Go from there and be mindful that there is a lot of information on this forum, use the search function.

Good luck
Old 08-13-2015, 06:21 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 116 Likes on 94 Posts

Originally Posted by 03_AR_CO
I'm not big on modding, chipping, etc. Been a fan of stock pretty much, I have the 225 and its no slouch. I have heard the same from 180 owners as well. I would start by making sure it is in top mechanical/stock tuned condition first. That would be my starting point regardless of my intentions. You could easily need plugs, coil packs, mine had severe vacuum leaking when I first got it, runs great now, great on gas mileage. Go from there and be mindful that there is a lot of information on this forum, use the search function.