Duo from Argentina wins Audi quattro Cup

By -

November 27, 2004

Source: Audi AG

The winners of the Audi quattro Cup World Final 2004 are from Argentina. Adriana Sammartino and Maria Paz Aldunate defeated their high-calibre rivals on the Victoria Golf Club course in Vilamoura/Portugal. “Way out. I would’ve never thought that we’d be able to win against this tough competition”, said Adriana Sammartino. “Audi have yet again organised a great year of tournaments, culminating in this final as the fitting highlight.”

More than 70,000 contestants in 38 nations had participated in the 770 tournaments of the Audi quattro Cup held around the world. The best of them met for the world final in Portugal from 20 to 24 October. For two days, a total of 60 pairs of the world’s best amateur golfers rendered performances of the highest calibre. This was echoed, as well, in laudatory comments made by Ralph Weyler, board member in charge of marketing and distribution of AUDI AG: “The level of golfing proficiency displayed by the finalists was outstanding and truly put to the test by this new, demanding course. The Audi quattro Cup is a superb brand experience for both customers and prospects.”

The Audi quattro Cup has been staged since 1991 and is played as `Four-Ball Better Ball´. Each team consists of two golfers, who play the ball alternately after teeing off. The World Final has two classification groups divided by the respective handicap. The successful series of tournaments will be continued next year as well. In 2005, the World Final of the Audi quattro Cup will be staged “overseas”.

Result of World Final, Audi quattro Cup, Victoria Golf Club, Vilamoura, Portugal, 20 to 24 October 2004

Group A (handicap 1-16)
1st Adriana Sammartino/Maria Paz Aldunate (Argentina/Argentina)
2nd Maxime Pigeon/Aurélie Moutot (France/France)
3rd Soren Stender Petersen/Ole Falk Ebbel (Denmark/Denmark)

Group B (handicap 17-33)
1st Miguel Arceo/Hector de la Paz (Mexico/Mexico)
2nd Christoph Gollonitsch/Benjamin Aigner (Austria/Austria)
3rd Jiao Zhenfeng/Zhao Fengrong (China/China)

Special prizes
Nearest to the Pin: Roumuald Le Bellec
Longest Drive Ladies: Maria Carmen Floran
Longest Drive Men: Hector de la Paz

Comments ()