2psi from 1.8t! Need diagnosis help please...

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 05:27 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2psi from 1.8t! Need diagnosis help please...

OK...1999 A4, completely stock, 150,000 miles. AEB engine. All parts appear to be original to the car based on factory clamps, etc.

I'm new to turbos...learning as I'm doing. Read many threads on many forums.

I'm getting 2psi max per my vac/boost gauge (also per Torque). Peaks to 4-5 psi during shifting.

New diverter valve 06A 145 710P, new PCV. Zero change.

Did pressure test with homemade PCV fittings etc. Got the pressure up to ~20psi (to the point where the hoses were ballooning) and fixed one small leak. The only other noise was gurgling from crankcase.

Verified wastegate actuator by applying mild pressure directly to the line. Seemed OK...shaft moved. There is no play in the shaft though, it's snug.

Removed the line to the wastegate actuator to eliminate actuation and test drove; no change, so I think that indicates that N75 isn't the cause.

I did an exhaust using Seafoam. Wasn't sure what to expect because I had never used Seafoam with the intent to look for leaks. Didn't really see much coming from under the hood, but I did realize that I had parked my rear to the wind so I had a little bit of stray smoke from the tailpipe.

Question: What does an exhaust leak look like when an engine is Seafoamed? Is it extremely obvious?

So, I'm down to actuator or wastegate itself...I think. I tired to access the wastegate actuator rod with the turbo in situ, but no way I'm getting my hands in there. I assume the turbo has to come off.

In winter, I had occasional P0422s, none lately...still I have a hunch I might have a clogged cat.

What did I miss, and what else could I test?

TIA,

Ron
Old 04-12-2015, 09:49 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts