Oil change hassles

Old 04-17-2006, 08:18 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil change hassles

I tried to change the oil on my 1994 100CSQ yesterday and failed. I have been changing my own oil on various vehicles for over 25 years and have never had so much trouble. After removing the plastic engine bottom cover (is this thing really necessary?), I tried for about an hour to remove the oil drain plug without success. I used a 17mm combination wrench, then moved to a 17mm socket with a 2 foot breaker bar and then even tried my compressed air wrench, all without success. The oil was last changed by the mechanic who changed my timing belt,etc. Has anyone else here had this problem? I don't know if it is a matter of it being baked on or severely overtightened. To add insult to injury it then took me a good fifteen minutes to put the stupid bottom cover back on (done just before guests started arriving for dinner). Anyone else here had this experience? I always change my own oil because I don't trust others to use the right stuff, etc.
Old 04-17-2006, 09:11 AM

Default I feel your pain...

That belly pan is a major headache but I keep it on nonetheless. I switched to synthetic oil so I really need to mess with it every 10k miles.
I notices that the plug really tightens with time. That is why it is important not to overtighten it. Your mechanic must have really put an arm to it. The only suggestion I have is to try again with the car warmed up. Let's hope that the different expansion coefficients of the metals (bolt - steel, oil pan - aluminum) will loosen-up the plug a bit. I always use a box wrench. On the positive note, this is one hell of a plug so I would think it would take quite a punding before it would shear so I would not worry about putting some torque to it as long as you have a good quality wrench so you do not strip it. Once you strip it you will be done for sure.
Old 04-17-2006, 09:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member