Help with a 2007 A3

Old 05-22-2016, 02:35 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with a 2007 A3

I'm new to this and I don't normally ask for help but this has me confused. I have a 2007 A3 it seems to run good (but has no power) idles fine, I checked for codes and it has 3. P0234, P0507, P0171. Which one do i start with? I can reset the codes and it has a but load of power but then it goes into a limp mode and I get the 3 codes.Someone please help me
Old 05-28-2016, 06:55 PM
AudiWorld Member

Start with the p0171 code. You need to find out why you are running lean. If you do not have access to a smoke tester, make a boost leak tester and use soapy water to find out if you have a leak somewhere. If so, repair the leak, clear codes, and see what comes back.
of you have any more questions feel free to shoot me a PM.

hope this helps, Connor
Old 07-28-2016, 07:17 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by transman
Start with the p0171 code. You need to find out why you are running lean. If you do not have access to a smoke tester, make a boost leak tester and use soapy water to find out if you have a leak somewhere. If so, repair the leak, clear codes, and see what comes back.
of you have any more questions feel free to shoot me a PM.

hope this helps, Connor
Connor, I have a similar problem I think. Codes P0101, P0171 and P0174. I've cleaned the MAF, replaced the air filter so now I'm on to looking for a leak.
Occasionally it stalls at stop lights/signs.

I'm sure I can make a tester from PVC, a schrader valve and use a compressor but where is the best place to connect it ?
Can I also spray carb cleaner around the hoses to see when the engine idle goes up ? (although I'd rather not be that guy on you tube setting fire to his car)

Appreciate your input.....
Old 08-01-2016, 07:39 AM
AudiWorld Member