2000 a6 2.7t tranny help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2013, 10:17 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 a6 2.7t tranny help!

I'm new to this completely so bare with me. I just bought a 2000 2.7t a couple days ago an whithin hours after the check engine light came on. Complete surprise as it starts perfect an runs like a champ. Well I took it to my friend an jiffy lube the next day, both of them checked with the hand held device an it popped up the p0741 (torque converter). The next day we took it in to my mechanic even though he doesn't tend to work on audis or transmissions an he looked it over an said it doesn't look to be the torque converter but the module? I'm not sure what that is but I am nervous to take my car anywhere else than someone I trust cause of shady people. Especially since Audis are expensive to fix. We dropped it off at a tranny shop my mechanic suggested an they won't be able to even look at it till monday. My question though is has anyone else been through this with their car? What are some signs I mat have noticed with either possibility..? Any advice is appreciated!
Old 12-23-2013, 11:21 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Sounds like you got screwed. The P0741 code pops up when you have a faulty torque converter. so youre probably looking at spending around $4,000 once it dies.

Look at 517trans.com for parts when the time comes.

Also, Ive had the check engine light for this for a few months now..

Originally Posted by katee.19