Engine Noise After Replacing Timing Belt & Valve Cover Gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2012, 09:34 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Noise After Replacing Timing Belt & Valve Cover Gaskets

Hey Everyone!

I've been preying on the forums for some time to complete some Do It Yourself Audi Work & until now have not registered or posted (until now!). I have an 01 A6 2.7T with 130,000 on the clock. I'm no mechanic, but am mechanically inclined. This is the first Audi I've worked on (huge pain in the ***)

So... this past month I completed a timing belt, valve cover/cam adjuster seals, auxiliary water pump, "spider hose", vacuum lines(every one), power steering pump swap job (I know tell me about it, life sucked!)

What I replaced...

Timing Belt, Idle Roller, Tension Roller, Timing Belt Dampener, water pump, Thermostat

Cam Adjuster flat seals, Half Moon seals

Every 3.5mm vacuum line I could find, entire spider hose assembly, auxiliary water pump

Power steering pump, banjo bolt from pump, all new hose clamps for everything mentioned & p/s reservoir

Timing Belt I did 100% by these instructions
http://www.contitech.de/pages/presse...pp_audi_en.pdf
Engine was turned over by hand 6x's to ensure proper timing & to prime the cam adjusters back with oil before starting engine.

Start engine up hoping it doesn't explode, it starts. Runs normally but sounds a bit louder than usual.

From the drivers side of the engine (with my ear inside the wheel well & from the top of the engine) I can hear a slight tap/ticking noise that wasn't there previously (not the fuel injector "tick" noise, I was aware of that injector noise before). Noise is not too loud but wasn't there before. N80 Valve also began clicking its valve much louder than previously ( I had not touched anything connecting to the N80 valve, I also put more gas in the tank to see if it shut the N80 up, it didn't)