Help bad white smoke and repair man might be smokin

Old 01-21-2009, 06:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help bad white smoke and repair man might be smokin

Hi guys first post here. I have a 2000 a6 2.7T. It was cold here yesterday and started out to town when I looked back and smoke was engulfing the street. appeared to be white. So i pulled over quickly and saw that it was dripping oil slowly under the front middle of the engine. Also when I pulled out the dipstick to check the oil level it was pressurized and spit all over the place. I took it to a non audi garage today and the guys said it had oil in both, I believe, intercooler hoses which meant it smoked both turbos. I personally find it hard to believe both went at the same time but hey im no mechanic. I also noticed the smoke gets worse when you romp on it and it warms up. Can you guys give me some heads up on this before I spend 3200 replacing both turbos.

Thanks
Old 01-21-2009, 06:55 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

honestly? sounds like a correct diagnosis to me.
Old 01-22-2009, 05:04 AM
AudiWorld Member

Oil leak when cold is tipically(hopefully) a frozen breather hose somewhere. Check these first!
Old 01-22-2009, 05:17 AM
AudiWorld Super User

good idea on breather hose.
Old 01-23-2009, 04:08 PM
AudiWorld Member

Default wait for it to warm up first.

I had the same problem, almost threw myself off a bridge cause I thought it was the turbos. I took it to my indy.. it warmed up (20 instead of -5) and he could not find anything wrong. Pull codes and you will find a cat bank that has malfuntioned because of the oil, reset and wait for warmer weather.... or replace breather assembly, and get an updated oil filler cap (orange oil can emblem). You also could have a suction pump problem. Finiki could help you out with that. On the down side, due to the excessive crank case pressure you may have blown a valve gasket (and most assuredly your cam seals). Do not do the turbos, yet.