AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   2.7T V6 Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/2-7t-v6-discussion-107/)
-   -   Messed up cam chain timing, bent valves (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/2-7t-v6-discussion-107/messed-up-cam-chain-timing-bent-valves-2879883/)

Boian 03-03-2015 09:02 PM

Messed up cam chain timing, bent valves

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I recently bought a 2001 Audi Allroad 2.7T. The first car I've owned on my own. I got it for a deal because the cam chain tensioner half moon gaskets and valve cover gaskets were leaking. Since I'm a bike mechanic I thought, what the hell, and proceeded to educate myself for 2 weeks about engines. I thought I could handle this. Boy, was I wrong. I did the driver side first and struggled with it for 2 days. First I snapped my cam chain tensioner tool. Bought a new one and compressed it way more slowly. Then I thought I could remove the cams without taking the front bumper off--my mistake, but one I didn't realize until the intake cams were already partially unseated. I'm guessing at this point the cams skipped a tooth. I somehow did the passenger side correctly.

Anyways, I go to start the car and I hear a loud pop followed by a gnashing sound. I let the car run for about 5 seconds then shut it off. By this point oil is pouring out the bottom of the car and the timing belt is drenched in oil. What happened was the driver side tensioner gasket popped out and the same side cam timing was off. After 4 days of working on this dang thing from sunrise to sunset I gave up and called a tow truck, hoping a mechanic could put it back together correctly. Well, $700 later they put it back in time and started it up and I the gnashing sound is still there, along with misfires and the oil pressure light as well. I'm guessing I bent multiple valves in those few seconds.