Weather killing/helping performance? Whats better? Opinions? Science?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2007, 05:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weather killing/helping performance? Whats better? Opinions? Science?

I live in NYC. I've noticed my car acting extremely different from one day to the next. Obviously when its 65 degrees and humid she runs liked a raped ape. Some days when its gets hotter 75-80 she runs REALLY slow. Like I don't have a turbo. But then on some warm days shes still got it. Also when it was VERY cold and crisp out she didn't really like that weather too much either. So my questions is this. Lets rate the performance robbers. At a perfect ten we have 65 degrees and humid. Running perfect Like this morning
Then we have these four to categorize. I'm new to forced induction and I am no physicist so I want to see what people think would hurt the twins more.
99 Degrees with 100% humidity
99 degrees with 40% humidity (yeah right. Not in NY)
25 Degrees and 90% humid (doesn't happen here either)
25 degrees and 10% humidity. (happens ALL too often this year) brrrr

I also start to see power dropping when driving through city streets after a long drive. I'm guessing I'm heat-soaked under the hood and she just needs to cool off a little..
So lets see if we can have a nice Thursday discussion. Thanks for letting me post ladies.
Old 05-10-2007, 05:21 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default problem: no discussion can occur without knowing your modifications.

Oh, and stock intercoolers are overmatched for anything other than stock boost.
Old 05-10-2007, 06:34 AM

Stock. RS6 exhaust but thats it. But in general. We know best conditions. Where do the others rate?
Old 05-10-2007, 06:49 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Default from discussions I've seen

heat matters, humidity doesn't matter as much, altitude matters a little