A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

[URGENT] Should I trade

Old 07-19-2017, 12:38 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default [URGENT] Should I trade

So I seen a guy that put up his 2004 A4 1.8t with MT @ 150k miles. I have a 2004 Honda Accord ex-l V6 with AT @ 146,xxx that is my daily and I'm looking to trade him. I have no experience with Audi or the euro market so my question to you guess is, 1) is it worth it? ( I know Audi's are more pricey to repair than my Honda). 2) Should I avoid it because of high mileage and I myself do not nor have I asked yet about the history of this car. 3) when I do get there to look at the car and test drive what should I keep an eye out for? This is urgent because I'm going to meet this guy tomorrow afternoon and I want to know at least a little bit of info before I jump right into this. Thanks for any information given!
Old 07-19-2017, 12:55 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

IMHO, I would just stick with your Accord for the following reasons:
1. You know its history;
2. Cheaper to maintain. Cheaper parts.
3. Honda's are quite reliable compared to German cars, in general.
4. That Audi 1.8T engine is no match for the muscle of the Honda V6. You're trading down on this feature. That's 170-HP vs. 240-HP.

Unless, the Audi A4 you are looking at has something very special that it is worth ditching your Honda Accord. Is there anything special with it? Or, is there a problem with your Honda Accord that is pushing you to ditch it?
Old 07-19-2017, 01:52 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Originally Posted by plat27265
IMHO, I would just stick with your Accord for the following reasons:
1. You know its history;
2. Cheaper to maintain. Cheaper parts.
3. Honda's are quite reliable compared to German cars, in general.
4. That Audi 1.8T engine is no match for the muscle of the Honda V6. You're trading down on this feature. That's 170-HP vs. 240-HP.