A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Bubbling from expansion tank!

Old 11-04-2018, 10:17 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bubbling from expansion tank!

Hi, im not that good at cars, so i trust you people ^^

Car: Audi A4 B5 1999

When i got back from a ride and open to look at the coolant level, its under minimum and bubbling alot.
Things ive done is:
*smelled the CAP and tank = no gas smelled.
*no white smoke from exhaustpipe.

Going to do:
*Change thermostat tomorrow.
*Locate the leakage
*Flush the heatercore
*Bleed out air if any.

So what can i do more ?

"Update: I filled up the expansion tank again and drove about 10km and checked again, but nu bubbles this time. Sooo....can it just be air inside the system ? And it spits out back into the tank and out in the small plastic pipe on the backside of the tank ?"
Old 11-05-2018, 03:19 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by Fredrik Maartensson
Hi, im not that good at cars, so i trust you people ^^

Car: Audi A4 B5 1999

When i got back from a ride and open to look at the coolant level, its under minimum and bubbling alot.
Things ive done is:
*smelled the CAP and tank = no gas smelled.
*no white smoke from exhaustpipe.

Going to do:
*Change thermostat tomorrow.
*Locate the leakage
*Flush the heatercore
*Bleed out air if any.

So what can i do more ?

"Update: I filled up the expansion tank again and drove about 10km and checked again, but nu bubbles this time. Sooo....can it just be air inside the system ? And it spits out back into the tank and out in the small plastic pipe on the backside of the tank ?"
"Update 2: Changed the thermostat, the old one was not that bad, and the coolanfluid was fine to.