A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Griot's Garage Product Impressions..( very long..)

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-1999, 09:03 AM
Chris K

Default Griot's Garage Product Impressions..( very long..)

Last week I ordered a few of the detailing products from griot's garage. Since I have purchased my car this was the first time that I decided to do a complete detailing job on my car. Please note that I am by no means a detailing expert and actually consider myself a novice in the field.<p>I ordered the following products:<br>-Speedshine (to be used with clay)<br>-Clay <br>-hand polish<br>-best of show wax<br>-terry cloth applicators (recommended to be used to apply hand polish)<br>-Orange sponge applicator with holder(used to apply best of show wax)<br>-Cotton Diapers (used to take off polish and wax)<br>-Synthetic "dimple" chamos<br>-griot's garage car wash<p>I started the day by giving my car a thorough wash with the Griot's garage car wash. Then I dired the car off with the synthetic chamois. I have used other synthetic chamois in the past, however I felt like I wanted to use all of Griot's line to see if they provide any noticable difference. They claimed that synthetic "dimpled" chamois would be more effective in retaining the water and would be the best synthetic chamois anyone has ever used. My impression of this product is that it works just as well as any synthetic chamois out there. It just ended up costing almost twice as much.<p>I then sprayed the car with speedshine in order to prep the car for the clay work. I was careful to apply lots of speedshine on the car and the clay because of many instances of cars being scratched without proper lubrication being applied on the paint. As far as I am aware, the clay is supposed to be used to take off bug and tar stains, and also to fix overspray and oxidation of the paint. The process was very easy to complete. However, after I was done, I did notice tha