A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Engine Fan and Dead Temp Gauge

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2011, 03:59 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Fan and Dead Temp Gauge

Okay, so I just bought my first Audi. It's a 2001 A4 1.8t FWD. First off, I'd like to say I'm a noob around the Audi scene, but not a noob when it comes to forums. I know I'm suppose to search and I did, but was not satisfied with what I found. The answers were kind of all over the place and I'd like a definitive answer. So if you know the answer or a thread that can clearly help me please point the way.

Anyways, the fan upfront is on all the time. As soon as I turn the key to acc position (engine not even cranked), the fan kicks in. From the sound of things, it seems to be on high. Also, the temperature gauge in my car is not working. It is dead I think; pinned cold at all times.

I read about the engine coolant temperature sensor causing fan problems. Could this sensor cause both the temp gauge and fan acting erratically? I haven't gotten a vagcom yet because I seriously just got the car yesterday. Please point me out to the right direction.

Thanks guys
Louis
Old 05-28-2011, 06:39 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by ruckus1027
Okay, so I just bought my first Audi. It's a 2001 A4 1.8t FWD. First off, I'd like to say I'm a noob around the Audi scene, but not a noob when it comes to forums. I know I'm suppose to search and I did, but was not satisfied with what I found. The answers were kind of all over the place and I'd like a definitive answer. So if you know the answer or a thread that can clearly help me please point the way.