A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

A4 B6 3.0L Cab: B1 S1 Oxy Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2017, 11:34 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A4 B6 3.0L Cab: B1 S1 Oxy Sensor

Does anyone know how to access the B1 S1 Oxy Sensor on a 2003 A4 B6 3.0L cabriolet ???

It doesn't appear possible from the engine bay, there's zero access from underneath. I've been working on cars for over 30 years but I cannot figure out how to get to this sensor.

There is zero clearance between engine and wheel well, zero clearance from underneath. I have removed the MAF and air intake at rear of engine. Followed sensor wires to back but cannot see the sensor.

Any help would be greatly appreciated...
Old 09-23-2017, 08:56 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

I did a search on this, perhaps it's what you're looking for:

Just completed this task. Unlike the 2.8s, the front 3.0 sensors are right at the very front of the down-pipe where they can barely be seen. The Bentley says to remove the right down-pipe in order to replace the sensor, but of course that means lowering the sub-frame as well.
It can be done from the top.

1) Remove flex hose coming from the MAF and the plastic intake runner (Air Duct) which attaches to the Throttle Body.

2) Remove the rubber 'Y' air hose which is just below the intake runner. This is part of the secondary air system.

3) You can now look down toward the B1S1 O2sensor from an eye position near the rear center of the engine. The O2 sensor is pointing roughly to the coolant reservoir.