A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Thinking about buying a 2002 audi with 26kkm on it (2009)

Old 04-22-2009, 05:26 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking about buying a 2002 audi with 26kkm on it (2009)

Hi,

I'm really interested in getting an Audi, but I can't afford a new one. For $17,000+taxes (maybe I could get them to go lower) I have my eye on a 2002 Audi A4 Quattro with 26,000km (not miles) on it.

Yes, this is extremely low KM. This car is in mint condition. The story behind it is that it was owned by some very rich family in a very rich part of Toronto where they probably had five or six cars sitting in a garage. They were likely cared for by some butler who seems to have brought it to Audi for maintenence on time. Though the car only has 26,000km on it, it has been serviced about seven or eight times already.

I drove the car and although I'm no car expert I didn't notice anything strange about the way the car drove. Everything felt great to me. No strange noises, no trouble changing gears (it's an automatic), the engine was smooth, etc...

Even showroom cars have scratches on them and a bit of wear and tear (especially after 8 years) but this car has nothing on it. It even still has a bit of the new car smell.

I read somewhere that the real problem with a car that hasn't been driven for a long time is that hoses and such dry out...but considering how this car drove it might be possible that "Jeeves" the butler (i don't know if jeeves really existed) took the car out once in a while to make sure it would still run well.

For comparison sake, for the same price I could probably get a 2006 A4 Quattro with about 110,000km on it, with some scratches and dings and some wear and tear on the inside of the car.