A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Audi of America coming through and working oil consumption problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 03:07 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audi of America coming through and working oil consumption problem

So I purchased my 2009 A4 with 79,000 miles last year from a dude off Craigslist. Its a beautiful car...but is plagued with issues. I knew it had a coolant leak before I bought it, but since I am a prior aircraft mechanic I figured I could handle it. Well it wasn't a leaking hose, but instead a bad pump. I changed that in my garage for $300 (part from Niello Audi in Sacramento). I also noticed that the car wasn't as fast as I thought it should be, but since I am a new Audi owner I had nothing to compare it to. Needless to say the turbo was going bad after I had a shop test it (after getting a handful of underboost codes). The new turbo cost me $2000 installed. So by now, I'm starting to regret my foray into the land of Audi. I havent even began to complain about the fact that it seems like I need to add oil very often. I know turbos can burn oil, but it seemed crazy how much. So I finally decided to add a quart and reset my trip meter. I was getting about 900 miles per warning light! I learned what was wrong by browsing this message-board/forum. I called Audi of Concord in Cali (about 45 min away) and they said they would do the consumption test (not sure if it was supposed to be free or not). I get there and the attendant looks at his computer and says the last owner already did the Phase 1 and Phase 2 and that the mileage alone (it now has 87K miles) makes me ineligible for any help. He then tries to get me to trade mine in and buy another Audi. I leave pissed off that they didnt call me and save me the hassle before I took the time off from work. Then tried to get me into another Audi after seeing how they stand by their work. About 4 months