A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Car shutters/shakes when decelerating or in stop n go traffic

Old 06-22-2017, 04:32 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car shutters/shakes when decelerating or in stop n go traffic

2014 Audi A4 sedan automatic, s line package
Old 06-22-2017, 05:11 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Hey guys, I recently purchased a 2014 Audi A4 sedan, automatic, s line package with 29000 miles on it. Now, Im new to the Audi family and this is my first Audi. And I love the car, but I recently noticed that on my way home from work, sitting in traffic, I can feel the car starts to shake or shutter after I slightly press on the gas and then release my foot off the pedal and start to coast until the car slows down or i have to press on the brake to stop before the car in front of me. It really only does this between 950-1500 rpm, specifically 950-1100 rpms. Its not a bad shake/shutter, but it is not smoothe at all, which is kind of annoying. Also, in that stop n go traffic, after I come to a complete stop, and then I press on the gas, the car like jumps into gear..but if i gun it or slowly accelerate, it doesnt happen. this "jump" also happens when Im decelerating and the car rolls to a stop, it "jumps" right around the 1000-1500 rpms and it goes into a lower gear. its not a smoothe transition at all and its no where near what it feels like when the car downshifts in higher gears.

I havent gotten any check engine lights or anything either.

Ive read alot of people posts with sort of the same idea saying that audi told them it was just how the engines/transmissions were built, as well as the turbo and how the car does that to slow down and conserve power or whatever. But there audis were before 2010 so I dont think it can relate to mine.