A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Start-Up/Ignition Issues

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2017, 10:11 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Start-Up/Ignition Issues

Hey guys, first time poster here - at my wits end. I've owned my 2011 A4 2.0T for about 5 months, and have dropped about $2300 worth of repairs, and I'm not convinced that the root problem has been solved. I'm not an expert here, so I'm having trouble identifying whats going on. Here's my summary...if anyone has any ideas, please let me know:

So far, I've had to have evap leaks and oil leaks fixed (it was running rich and running lean and throwing those codes). But, the leaks seem to start when I go through the following cycle:

1) Generally, the car drives well except in two situations. On Saturdays, I usually run errands, making 4-5 stops along the way. On the 4th or 5th startup of the day, the engine starts then completely dies - no codes. It usually takes me hitting the ignition a couple more times and giving it a lot of gas and RPMs to get it going so it doesn't die when going back to idle. Drive home is completely uneventful.

Fast forward to the next morning. Start up is rough. Shaking and popping coming from the engine...sometimes dies, but I have to give it some gas to make sure it doesn't. Normal idle resumes. Two days after that, I get a code - running rich or running lean (head to the mechanic to fix the gaskets). The most recent one was an oil pan leak (no code for that).

Needless to say, I feel like the root problem hasn't been addressed. Something is happening on that 4th time starting up when the engine is warm. And then the next morning when the engine is cold. Mechanic has no idea and looks at me like I'm insane (basically, "no-code, no problem")...they don't care because I keep on bring back my car for more repairs.

Any ideas what the problem might be??? Thanks in advance.
Old 10-23-2017, 07:39 PM