A4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A4 2017-

Atrocious throttle response

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2018, 06:33 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Atrocious throttle response

Hello, I have a 2017 A4 Quattro 2.0T TFSI DCT. It has the worst throttle response of any vehicle I've ever driven. The throttle is like the shutter on a 15 year old digital camera; you hit it and get a response a second or so later. It was the first thing I noticed when I test drove the car. However since my previous car was a Corvette z06 I thought this was largely due to the contrast of going from essentially a street-legal race car to a sedan. Between that, the very positive Consumer Reports review, and the fact that I didn't have a lot of time to spend test driving cars, I bought the A4. I've been regretting that decision for the past two years and I'm at the point of simply cutting my losses and selling the car. I've brought it to the dealer several times only to be told there's nothing wrong with the car. For comparison, here's a list of a few vehicles I've recently driven with orders-of-magnitude better throttle response:

- My wife's 2005 Honda Civic LX (wtf???)
- A 2015 SEAT Leon Turbodiesel I4 I rented in Spain a couple months ago
- A 2018 Ford F150 pickup with a 2.7 liter turbocharged V6

I want to stress that the throttle response on these vehicles isn't just slightly better. It's literally an order of magnitude better, I'm talking say 100ms latency versus a full second or more for the A4 under certain conditions.