AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A4 (B9 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-b9-platform-discussion-212/)
-   -   Audi and the carbon Build up woes (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-b9-platform-discussion-212/audi-carbon-build-up-woes-2922675/)

edle 06-17-2017 05:38 AM

Audi and the carbon Build up woes

So I am new to the world of Audi and before purchasing mine was told that one of the negatives of these cars is the carbon build up that can eventually become very costly to deal with. Can one of you long time Audi owners elaborate on your experiences with carbon build up in your cars and what you do to avoid/prevent it from happening? I've heard its something you live and deal with in general?

I mean is this something that usually happen after the 4 yrs or 50,000 miles warranty expires or how often does the build up get to a point that needs attention?

KevinB656 06-17-2017 06:25 AM

There is a pretty good discussion of it here:

https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a4-...-pipe-2917378/

It seems the best thing one can do is use a high-quality detergent gas like Shell Nitro.

edle 06-17-2017 06:28 AM

Thanks for the tip, I've already only used Shell Premium for the past 10+ years only so should be good there.

up-n-coming 06-17-2017 08:45 AM

Gasoline quality has nothing to do with the carbon build up issue. Carbon builds up on top of the intake valves because with direct injection fuel is injected directly into the cylinders. Carbon migrates to the coldest surfaces and the intake valves are the coldest. Since fuel never touches the valves the carbon keeps building up till it starts robbing you of power and fuel economy. With port injection fuel is sprayed into the intake manifold and washes over the valves as it enters the cylinders. Carbon can't build up.