A4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A4 2017-

The deal with MMI Updates

Old 02-18-2019, 08:26 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default The deal with MMI Updates

I am a tech guy(software engineer), who has owns many technical devices, and I am a new Audi A4 Prestige owner. I notice some bugs right off the bat in the MMI software thinking no worries, it will be fixed in a later revision of the software, and will just update the software like any of device (such as a phone, TV, game console etc). After reading through this forum, it looks like there is not a way to update the software in your own car! With a complicated software based system such as MMI, that even can connect to the network, get news stories delivered, push navigation and voice integration, there is going to be bugs/issues that will progressively get fixed, especially with a new model car/device. How does one get their mmi software updated in this car?

One issue is the google earth does not ever auto start unless I manually go to Audi Connect and select Google Earth. I also get same message about accepting Audi Connect terms every time I click on it (may be related). I am running version 1316, is there a later version?
Old 02-18-2019, 08:37 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 139 Likes on 102 Posts

Originally Posted by dmbtech
How does one get their mmi software updated in this car?
By going to the dealer. Maps, however, get updated over the air.
Old 02-18-2019, 09:30 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 97 Likes on 73 Posts

In regards to the satellite map not displaying immediately, are you parked in the garage where satellite reception is not great? This may have an affect in the Audi connect services connecting to the vehicle.

Also, have you setup your Audi connect account with your Vehicle Key Code? After I determined that the satellite reception was not the issue, I determined it was Audi connect not being setup with my vehicle key code.