A4 (B9 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B9 Audi A4 2017-

Sport vs. Adaptive suspension - Adaptive 'sporty' enough?

Old 03-27-2017, 07:14 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Sport vs. Adaptive suspension - Adaptive 'sporty' enough?

Hello all - newbie here who is just getting into the intro lux sedan field. Have been looking at the BMW 3 series and the Audi A4. Have not had either car before. Am looking for something "sporty" which originally pulled me to the 3 series but the more I looked into the A4 the more it appeals to me.

I originally was looking at the A4 sport package w sport suspension but upon reading this forum and some others, it seems this can be a little firm/rough at times. I'm in upstate new york and we do get some rough roads in winter. I'm not going to be doing any 110 mph track handling conditions, but I would like something with some play and some sport to it. If I settled on the Prestige with adaptive suspension, do people find this has enough 'sport' in it? Realizing that it probably is not on the same level as a 3 series. And from what I can decipher, the suspension can be changed manually to a 'sporty' mode, correct?

Also - best tires for either suspension? From what I've read, it sounds like people prefer 18 to 19s just for quieter road noise - not sure if one performs better than other.

Many thanks for any opinions!
Old 03-28-2017, 10:06 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Or any info on the adaptive suspension at all. It seems people think the 'comfort' setting is almost too soft.
Old 03-28-2017, 10:30 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 102 Likes on 86 Posts

Did you test drive them? 328 vs A4 stock vs A4 sports even A4 with adaptive if possible. I think you need to test drive them if not yet since you are new to this category. Sportiness is subjective. I wouldn't just read too much into prints.
Old 03-28-2017, 10:33 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts