Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Audio questions/comments

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 05:16 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Audio questions/comments

I have a couple of questions re: audio in the car. I am new to both Sirius and HD radio so I don't have much experience with either. When I play music thrugh AM, FM or iPxd (thru cable or bluetooth) sound quality is good. Nice, rich analog sound for radio and, depending on bit rate for music on the iPxd, just fine. When I switch to Sirius or one of the FM HD channels, the sound quality is poor. No crackling or static, they sound like they are coming through some really poor digital conversion. Almost like AM radio used to sound relative to stereo FM or like it is digital music saved at some really low bit rate like 64kbps. this is on all channels; music, talk, etc... So, my question is; is this a product of the technology or is there something else going on here?
Old 01-12-2012, 05:23 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 27 Likes on 20 Posts

Originally Posted by das2.7t
I have a couple of questions re: audio in the car. I am new to both Sirius and HD radio so I don't have much experience with either. When I play music thrugh AM, FM or iPxd (thru cable or bluetooth) sound quality is good. Nice, rich analog sound for radio and, depending on bit rate for music on the iPxd, just fine. When I switch to Sirius or one of the FM HD channels, the sound quality is poor. No crackling or static, they sound like they are coming through some really poor digital conversion. Almost like AM radio used to sound relative to stereo FM or like it is digital music saved at some really low bit rate like 64kbps. this is on all channels; music, talk, etc... So, my question is; is this a product of the technology or is there something else going on here?
I think something else is going on as my Sirus and FM/HD radio channels sound fine to me.