Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Coolant in Mechatronic and TSC connectors

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2019, 09:37 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Coolant in Mechatronic and TSC connectors

I just finished a lengthy DIY on my 2012 A6 3.0T Prestige with 108k miles and I would like to share some information. The issue starts with a bad TSC coolant valve and ends with coolant inside the mechatronic connector mounted on the side of the transmission. Apparently coolant can wick inside the wire from the TSC valve to the mechatronic connector. I'm a Chemical Engineer/ retired Professional Automotive Engineer and past ASE Certified Mechanic and I can definitively state that I have never seen this type of failure before. I repaired the TSC valve and it's connector based on VAG-COM code (P2753) and then ran into a follow-on code two days later (P1894). The dreaded 'Transmission Communication Error' - you can continue to drive. Dealership offered an $11,000 repair, yes $11,000!!

There was a TSB on the TSC valve and this repair should/ would have been covered under warranty but what infuriates me is that Audi has made the decision to NOT correct a $200 part that can lead to a $11,000 repair. I would have authorized repair for the original TSB at my cost during one of my regular service visits if I had known the implications. Poor customer / long term ownership relationship building by Audi.