Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

longevity of paint protection film?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2014, 07:08 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default longevity of paint protection film?

I am getting a new S6 (Aug delivery) and am contemplating paint protection film for a least the areas likely to get rock chips. I see some have gotten the entire car done. I have a few questions, since I have never used this type of product before.

Is there a problem with the areas covered vs uncovered with film fading differently over time from the sun?

Any special instructions for washing your car?

Any opinions on the best brand/type of film?
Old 06-21-2014, 07:35 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 882 Likes on 721 Posts

I would also like to know the answers to those questions. I am taking delivery of a TDI in Oolong Gray Metallic in August.
Old 06-21-2014, 08:06 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

More recent films don't show much of a difference between covered and uncovered. that said if you don't cover a full panel you will notice a line where the film ends. Honestly I don't know about fading issues, however the film could yellow and if it does within warranty period you can get it replaced.

No special instructions for washing your car. Actually it's easier washing the covered areas as there is less concern about scratching the paint.

Best films are probably those that have self healing properties when it comes to scratches. All films will get "chipped" and scratched by road debris. But It is doing it to the film and not to your paint. IMO it's worth it. My paint has been saved and if I keep the car long enough I will most likely get the major pieces of film replaced and any others that may have been damaged. Cheaper than repainting the front of the car.
Old 06-21-2014, 09:55 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts