Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Should I get a used A6??

Old 06-19-2017, 09:43 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I get a used A6??

Hi everyone, I'm seeking input on whether or not I should purchase the car I want (Audi A6 '13-'15) or go a little more conservative and get an Acura. Here's a little background info on why I'm hesitant about the decision: I currently own a 2007 Kia Spectra which was the first car I ever purchased and I've been driving it every since. I have a college degree and am very close to paying off my student loans and the plan is to live a debt free lifestyle aside from mortgage. Now that my final student loan payment is coming up... And I'm approaching 10 years of driving this same car, I would like to upgrade my wheels with something that I will actually enjoy versus something to just get me from point a to point be (which is what my first purchase was). I will be turning 30 soon, I make a salary of $50k before taxes, I am in a relationship so household expenses are sliced and I will be left with discretionary income of over $1k a month once I've made my final student loan payment. My plan is to save up and buy the car I want in cash. Where I live the used A6 goes for anywhere from $23k for a normal used or around $26k for CPO. I crunched the numbers and I don't think I would have a problem affording this, especially since there would be no car note. But as I'm doing my research I find nothing but negative comments about the cost to own this car and how much maintenance it is even down to a monthly basis. Is it really that bad? One post I read said that as long as you have a couple grand stashed away per year.. That should be enough. I think that is a reasonable price to pay to own a luxury vehicle. Being that I do have the monthly discretionary income.. I don't mind stashing away 2 months worth of savings for car maintenance.. But I would