Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

TDi questions - Regeneration

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2014, 02:43 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TDi questions - Regeneration

I currently own a 2008 Ford F250 Diesel and have owned a Euro spec mid 80's Nissan Patrol diesel, so I have had some experience with diesel engines. We are currently shopping for an A6 3.0 TDi.

My questions have to do with the DPF regeneration cycle (cleaning exhaust filter).
  • What indication (if any) do you get when the vehicle enters regeneration?
  • How often can one expect the vehicle to enter regeneration? My 6.4 powerstroke enters regen aprox 2 times every tank.
  • Are their any common DPF problems?
  • Has anyone encountered the need to have their DPF cleaned? I think I read something about a service requirement in a TDi maintenance summary.

My truck is a pre- Diesel Exhaust Fluid vehicle, but has the DPF. DEF was supposed to make the DPF more efficient and resolve some of the soot and fuel economy issues of the previous generation DPF equipped vehicles. I am curious of what I can expect.

Ford had so many DPF related owner complaints they changed the indication message so it only comes on momentarily at the beginning. However, to prevent DPF clogging or other problems, you need to let the Regen cycle complete (takes 15 minutes approximately). Because the regen cycle initiates based on pressure in the DPF and when the truck is at operating temperature, it seems to enter regen when we are getting close to our destinations. I added a Scan Gauge II with programming so I can monitor the regen status. I am hoping Audi's experience with diesel cars have made their offering a much better owner and operator's experience, especially with regards to the emissions.

Any info is appreciated.

Vincent
Old 08-22-2014, 03:45 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts