AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a6-c7-platform-discussion-194/)
-   -   Wheel Spacers??? (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a6-c7-platform-discussion-194/wheel-spacers-2897977/)

DanfZX14 03-24-2016 05:11 AM

Wheel Spacers???

Does anyone have any experience with these? I am toying with the idea of installing wheels spacers to change the stance of the vehicle for the summer. I will be running the stock OEM 20" wheels with the factory sport suspension that came with the car. I have never done this before so I am open to any suggestions and all comments and recommendations. Should I go equal thickness all the way around? If so what thickness would work well? Should I go staggered? If so what thicknesses? Should I not do this at all to avoid problems?

CHIO 03-24-2016 05:20 AM

I would look at ECS tuning and see what they say ! i have run there spacers on other cars but not this one

snagitseven 03-24-2016 06:48 AM

My take on this, aside from any potential fender clearance issues, any time you change the geometry of the suspension by moving the wheels out, there will likely be some effect of handling balance and/or component stress effectiveness. Audi undoubtedly spends hundreds of computer design hours doing engineering geometry analysis to determine the best compromise in handling, durability and performance. Change one of the factors and it will affect the others to one degree or another.

Spacers are generally used on Audis to compensate for non-standard aftermarket wheels to match the different offsets. Not so much for appearance as might be found on those "boy racer" cars.

tenspeed 03-24-2016 10:17 AM

Personally, I try to avoid spacers. As pointed out, they change the geometry of the suspension and increase component wear. I keep cars for the long haul. I did come across this active thread about spacers on the C7 platform.

Which spacers to buy?