A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

'01 A6 2.7T: Help identifying an engine part please.

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 12:21 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '01 A6 2.7T: Help identifying an engine part please.

Hello,
So with the help of a mechanic friend, I have identified the part that causes my car to make strange whirring sounds (especially loud when turning the wheel).
When I open the hood, I look down and the part is this silver metal pulley-like thing. It is about the size of my hand and is mounted vertically. It is located directly behind the grill and does not need the plastic engine top cover to be removed to see it.
Any ideas as to what this is? Remember, it makes a loudish noise on startup and it gets worse when I turn the wheel. I will need to order the part and have a local Audi mechanic here replace it for me.
Thanks a lot for your help. I am new to this whole DIY thing and I am very excited to get deeper into it with your help on this great forum.

-Sam
Old 03-03-2011, 01:08 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Can you take a pic of it ?

I don't see anything like that on my '01 2.7 - I'm probably not looking in the right place...
Old 03-03-2011, 01:25 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by a6_driver
it makes a loudish noise on startup and it gets worse when I turn the wheel. I will need to order the part and have a local Audi mechanic here replace it for me.
Sounds like power steering pump noise, possibly low fluid, by what you are describing. Check P/S fluid level and suction-side clamps as a first course of action. Fluid should be Pentosin CHF 11S available at foreign auto parts stores.

Diagnose, then replace. Search this forum for "power steering noise".
Old 03-03-2011, 01:40 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by socalclimber