AudiWorld Forums

AudiWorld Forums (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/)
-   A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a6-s6-c5-platform-discussion-7/)
-   -   Just checking to make sure I'm seeing what I think I am. (https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a6-s6-c5-platform-discussion-7/just-checking-make-sure-im-seeing-what-i-think-i-am-2888616/)

bilbo6209 09-03-2015 05:01 PM

Just checking to make sure I'm seeing what I think I am.

Hey guys,
I'm just getting ready to do a Trans fluid and filter and was looking around under the car and wanted to get some input on what I'm seeing being that I'm new to the world of quattros.

First it looks like I have a Transmission pan seal leak

https://cimg0.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.aud...83d0e6f08d.jpg

Then it looks like, what I think is the center Diff (this is where my lack of quattro knowledge is showing) is leaking, but the cats were still quite warm so I couldn't do too much poking around. There was a Drip of fluid I wiped off to see what it was, it felt like atf, and was redish.... I and the 2nd pic shows oil streaks down both sides of the drive shaft hump

https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.aud...7e13d97f83.jpg

https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.aud...b8f9ae787c.jpg

I'm guessing there is a bad seal etc that is blown on the Diff (assuming that's what it is). From what it looks like, it seems like.... It looks to be that I would have to drop the exhaust, or at least let it hang, remove at least some of the heat shields, then remove the the effected drive shaft(s) or input shaft and then replace the required seal. Does that sound about right?
I'm assuming this is the most likely cause of the humming/whine I hear at 65 to 70 when I take my foot off the gas and then lightly step on it again.

I also found this, it's the drivers side rear outside axle. Both rear outside axles are missing the clamps on the Cv boots but the drivers is spewing grease

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.aud...57b33c3fc0.jpg